How long does the Uber driver background check take?
Background checks for new Uber drivers take anywhere from a few days to two weeks.
How do I retroactively apply an Uber referral code?
You can retroactively apply an Uber referral code only if it has been less than 15 days since the you became active in Uber's system.
For more info on how to do this, see the Retroactive Uber Referral Code page.
How much will my Uber referral bonus be?
Referral bonuses vary city by city and are subject to change periodically. If you are outside of the city of San Diego, your referral reward may be different from what is promoted on this city (higher or lower.) You may want to double check with Uber directly to see what this amount is.
How does Uber's double-sided bonus work?
Uber rewards both the referee and the referrer with an equal, double-sided bonus.
So let's say you sign up to drive using my Uber referral code and then complete the required amount of trips needed. You will then receive, for example, a $300 bonus and I will also receive a $300 bonus as my reward for referring you.
Important to Know: The bonus amount actually depends on the city the referee is going to be driving in and what that city's current promotion is.
Promotions change often but all referral codes are equal, so no matter who's referral code you sign up with, you're going to receive the same amount.
For example, if you saw someone promoting a $500 bonus with their code and someone else promoting a $100 bonus with their code, you're naturally going to be tempted to use the $500 code.
But what you should do instead is contact Uber directly (you can find a list of Uber's support emails by city here) to find out how much the current bonus is for your city and what the required amount of trips are, just so you know what to expect.
Furthermore, once you become an Uber driver, you will also receive your own referral code, which you can use to sign up other drivers and earn an additional double-sided bonus.
Where can I share my Uber referral code?
Once you're signed up as a driver, you'll receive your own referral code that you can use to refer others to either ride or drive for Uber. This also means you can make some commission!
There are, however, certain policies you need to follow if you decide to share your referral code online. Not following Uber's policies can result in suspension of your account, deactivation of your referral code and/or the loss of all referral credits or money earned from referrals.
You can share your referral code with personal connections via email, Twitter feeds, Facebook pages, personal blogs, etc. where you are the primary content owner.
You cannot share your referral code on sites where you are not the primary content owner (e.g., Wikipedia, coupon websites, in the comments section of other people's blogs/websites, etc.) Promoting your referral code via Search Engine Marketing (e.g., AdWords/Yahoo/Bing) is also not allowed.